Jayajirao Scindia, Maharaja Scindia of Gwalior and his suite

This photograph is of Jayajirao Scindia (1834-1886), the Maharaja of Gwalior, with his counsels. The Maratha Confederacy was an invincible force in 18th-century India. Ranoji Shinde, a Peshwas lieutenant who was pivotal in the Peshwas’ fight against the Mughals in Malwa, was one of the army’s rising stars. In 1731, Ranoji established his rule in… Read more »

Map Showing Track of Rebels Under Tantia Topi

The map shows the route the army of Tantia Topi took when escaping after being defeated at Gwalior. Tantia Tope, an employee of the Peshwa Bajirao, was a prominent leader of the 1857 Uprising. For a while, he made Gwalior his stronghold, from which he was defeated by Colin Campbell. He kept escaping the British… Read more »